human services quality standards

ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems

Implementing a quality management system will help you to focus on the important areas of your business and improve organisational performance. Achieving certification to the ISO 9001:2015 standard indicates to your customers that your quality management system meets international standards and your organisation is committed to continuous improvement.

Certification against ISO 9001:2015 is a three-year cycle involving an initial two-stage certification process and two annual surveillance audits.

Stage 1
Stage 2
Certification Audit
12 months
Surveillance audits


The initial certification is conducted as a two-stage process.

The Stage 1 audit involves a review of documentation by the Audit Team to determine your organisation’s readiness to proceed to the Stage 2 certification audit.

Your organisation will be provided with advice on areas of potential nonconformity with the standards. These should be addressed prior to the Stage 2 audit.

The process may be conducted on or off-site, IHCA will discuss this with you.

Certification Audit

The on-site certification audit will be conducted according to a documented audit plan, which will be developed in consultation with your organisation.

The Audit Team will comprise auditors who verify your organisational work practices by reviewing your policies, procedures and records, conducting interviews with board, management, staff, service participants and other stakeholders as appropriate, review of participants’ files and by observing the conduct of activities onsite.

Corrective action planning

Where a nonconformity is identified, your organisation will need to develop a corrective action plan before being eligible for the award of certification. The lead auditor will advise your organisation on the timeframes for corrective action at the closing meeting.

Formal certification decision and registration

IHCA Certification will provide a written report to your organisation, which will be formally certified against the Standard if there are no nonconformities or where corrective action requirements have been met. Upon certification, your organisation will be issued with a certificate confirming your organisation’s conformance to the standards and the right to use IHCA Certification’s distinctive symbol in promotional activities.

IHCA Certification will add your organisation’s name to the Joint Accreditation System of Australia and New Zealand (JASANZ) register of certified organisations, which is publicly accessible on the JASANZ website:

Surveillance Audits

Surveillance audits will be undertaken every 12 months to ensure that your organisation’s work practices are being maintained and that they are being periodically monitored and reviewed to ensure continuous improvement. A report will be provided to you with feedback regarding the results of these audits


We are here to help. Talk to us today about how we can support your organisation in achieving excellence in quality standards and service delivery.